be a mess

Girls, how many times have people told you that you looked like a “hot mess”? As for me, I couldn’t count that high. Time and time again I’ve gotten that exact statement from people of all age groups. No matter where I am, people seem to ask. The mall, church, on campus, in the dining hall. Apparently I have this perpetual state of worry written on my face. (Who knew?)

“You don’t look like you’ve got your life together.”

“Wow, are you stressed?”

“Are you okay?” 

No, I don’t have have my life together. Yes, I am stressed. Yes, I am okay. Since when does your outer appearance dictate your mental well-being?

It is perfectly okay to not have your life together. It is perfectly okay to change your major seven times. There is nothing wrong with changing your mind. Indecisiveness is okay. (Just not when you’re choosing between Chipotle and Qdobda.. always choose Chipotle.) Indecisiveness means that maybe you want to find something that you actually will enjoy doing for the rest of your life. Maybe you want to find the most meaningful and worthwhile career for you. Good news – that means you are following your dreams! Which maybe, the person who said you looked like a hot mess, might not be doing. Follow your dreams, follow your heart. The organization will come later.

It is perfectly okay to be stressed. Yes, stress! Stress can be a good thing. You know why? It means you care. It means that you care enough to worry about the task that you are trying to complete. 80% of the time, it also means that you are passionate about what you are doing. Whether that is an anatomy test, a basketball game, or organizing something in your church, stress can motivate you. I know that for me, I am normally more productive when I stress. When deadlines are looming over my head (even if they’re a week away), I get things done. Why be calm, cool, and collected 24/7? Then people will say you’re a hard core pot smoker. Kidding, but am I not right? Be passionate. Be devoted to what you’re doing wholeheartedly. There’s no harm in stressing a little about it!

And yes, I am okay. Even if I look like I rolled out of bed two minutes ago and have a bit of toothpaste on my chin, at least I’m in class now, right? My hair be a little greasy or my eyeliner may not always be even, but at the end of the day, I know who sits on the throne. I know who holds my world and I know who has shaped my plans for me. I know that everything will be okay. I know that am okay.

Let’s continue being hot messes, y’all.

Leave a Reply

