city love

This morning my friend and I ventured out on a whim into the outskirts of Louisville to a famous scenic overlook. Earlier at breakfast I experienced the want to drive for a bit to escape the busyness of school, responsibilities, and city life. We drove fifteen minutes away and made the winding trip up the hill in Iroquois Park. We reached the stopping point in my car and made the small half-mile hike to the overlook spot. The air was chilled and the skies were blue, trees surrounding us at every turn. No one was out except for my friend and I. The tranquility and calmness of the area overtook me.

When we reached the outlook, I stepped up on the rocks and was taken aback by the beauty that was the city of Louisville. It had never occurred to me how far the hills of Louisville stretched. I could see all the way to the KFC Yum! Center. When I looked out, I saw so much of a city that I had barely taken the time to know these past seven months. I saw hope, adventure, forgiveness, a fresh start, promise, and love – all in one view. I challenged myself to start venturing out into the unknown from now on during the weekends instead of cooping myself up in my dorm. There is so much life and so much fun to be had in a city such as this.

As I was marveling at the beautiful creation of God, I felt an overwhelming sense of love from Him. Promise, forgiveness, fresh start, hope – these were all things that I was reminded of this morning that come to me through His grace and through having faith in Him. I felt so renewed. I felt so full of hope and wonder. I felt better than I had all year long. Today, I found my worth in Christ again. This all came from a blue, cloud-filled sky above me, trees below me, and a city before me. This city, this place, this college that I was placed at; I know that it is all in the great works of His plan and His destiny for me. I know that everything that has happened this semester is truly for the betterment of me and my relationship with Him. I know that He has a purpose for me far greater than I could ever imagine.

This past month I have been dwelling on myself and my pain more than I should have. I have been dwelling on how things are now rather than looking forward to the future. I have been focusing on the minute details of a sad, fortunate, life, rather than looking at the large picture. Today I realized that now more than ever, the time spent on focusing on the small details is insignificant. I need to focus on the big picture of this crazy world that is my life.

How will you step out and find your worth again if you have lost it? My advice is to seek out peace and tranquility in nature. I find it one of the best mediators for God’s promises. And of course, scripture – always scripture.

The following verse is from Psalms 96:4-6 which is headed by “Worship in the Splendor of Holiness” – “For great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised; he is to be feared above all gods. For all the gods of the peoples are worthless idols, but the Lord made the heavens. Splendor and majesty are before him, strength and beauty are in his sanctuary.” 

Reading that has me like: “YES, God, YES! BLESS UP Y’ALL! GOD IS SO GOOD.”

God’s promises are truly overwhelming.

MAB out. 

 

 

One thought on “city love

Leave a Reply

